Department of Agronomy

The Department of Agronomy started functioning in 1978 under North Eastern Hill University. In the establishment of Nagaland University, the department became a unit of SASRD under Nagaland University and started functioning under NU since September 6, 1994. The post graduate programme stated since July, 1997.

 

The main objectives of the Department are:

i) To train students in theory as well as in practical aspects of crop production.

ii) To find out the suitable technology to the grass root levels.

iii) To promote and transfer technology to the grass root levels.

iv) To have strong linkage between government machinery and other academic institutions specially ICAR etc. in the state in particular and region in general.

 

Teaching Staff:

Name Designation / DoJ Edu. Qualification Contact Information Research Contribution

Dr. P.L. Singh

Assoc. Professor


HoD

Ph.D (Agronomy)

9436264239

plsingh@nagalanduniversity.ac.in

hodagro@nagalanduniversity.ac.in

1. Papers Published - 26

2. No. of Students Guided

  • Ph.D - 03
  • M.Sc - 20
01/07/1996

Dr. L Tongpang Longkumer

Assoc. Professor


*I/c Academic & Exams(UG) w.e.f. 10/8/2012-30/09/2014

* I/c. Farmers Cell, NU, SASRD

Ph.D (Agronomy)

9436061354

tongpang@nagalanduniversity.ac.in
 

1. No. of Papers Published - 12

2. No. of Students Guided

  • M.Sc - 05

3. Research Projects

  • As Co-PI: 01
  • As Programme Officer: 02
01/09/2000

Dr. T. Gohain

Asst. Professor


* Hostel Warden

*I/c Central Instrumen-

tations Lab of SASRD

 

Ph.D (Agronomy)

9436430276

tgohain@nagalanduniversity.ac.in

1. No of papers published - 30

2. No of students guided

  • PhD - 03
  • M.Sc - 17

3. Research projects - 01

16/10/2003

Dr. A.P. Singh

Asst. Professor

* Hostel Warden

 

Ph.D (Agronomy)

9402060501

apsingh@nagalanduniversity.ac.in
 

1. No of papers published - 03

2. No of students guided

  • M.Sc - 01
09/10/2012

Dr. Lanunola Tzudir

Asst. Professor


-

 

Ph.D (Agronomy)

8575846933

lanunola@nagalanduniversity.ac.in

1. No of papers published - 03

 

09/10/2012

Dr.Debika Nongmaithem

Asst. Professor

-

 

Ph.D (Agronomy)

9862245095

debikan@nagalanduniversity.ac.in
 

1. No of papers published - 03
16/09/2013